CVE Tools

CVE-2019-7307

Apport contains a TOCTTOU vulnerability when reading the users ~/.apport-ignore.xml

Public exploit available. Not confirmed exploited in the wild yet. A vendor fix is available.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD, BDU

What to do

The vendor has published a fix. Version details are below where the sources state them.

  • Ubuntu apportAffected: before 2.14.1-0ubuntu3.29+esm1Upgrade to: not statedAffected: before 2.20.1-0ubuntu2.19Upgrade to: not statedAffected: before 2.20.9-0ubuntu7.7Upgrade to: not statedAffected: before 2.20.10-0ubuntu27.1Upgrade to: not stated + 1 more branchStated by: CVE record
  • Canonical Ltd. UbuntuAffected: 16.04 LTSUpgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
  • Canonical Ltd. ApportAffected: 2.14.1Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU

Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in

What it is

From the CVE record

Apport before versions 2.14.1-0ubuntu3.29+esm1, 2.20.1-0ubuntu2.19, 2.20.9-0ubuntu7.7, 2.20.10-0ubuntu27.1, 2.20.11-0ubuntu5 contained a TOCTTOU vulnerability when reading the users ~/.apport-ignore.xml file, which allows a local attacker to replace this file with a symlink to any other file on the system and so cause Apport to include the contents of this other file in the resulting crash report. The crash report could then be read by that user either by causing it to be uploaded and reported to Launchpad, or by leveraging some other vulnerability to read the resulting crash report, and so allow the user to read arbitrary files on the system.

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS24th
Public exploit
CISA KEV

Not in the catalog. CISA has not confirmed exploitation.

Public exploits

1 source with a proof of concept or module.

Exploit links, PoCs and Metasploit modules after sign-in
EPSS

0.3% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 24th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

The patch came 471 days before any public exploit.

  1. OpenVAS check added
  2. Public exploit / PoCsource: packetstorm
  3. Patch availablerecord updated
  4. Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped

Affected products

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

Scored 7.0 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector LocalRequires local access to the vulnerable system (e.g. local login, malicious file)
  • Attack Complexity HighRequires specific conditions like a race condition or non-default configuration
  • Privileges Required LowRequires basic user-level privileges
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality HighTotal information disclosure — all data in the component is compromised
  • Integrity HighTotal loss of integrity — attacker can modify any data in the component
  • Availability HighTotal denial of service — the component is completely unavailable

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next serious one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Ubuntu, not every advisory. This one: public exploit.