CVE Tools

CVE-2026-21589

No known exploitation. EPSS puts it in the 86th percentile. Fixed versions are out.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD

What to do

Find your product and version, then upgrade to the build on the right.

  • Atlassian Bamboo Data CenterAffected: All other versionsUpgrade to: not statedFixed buildsPatch version 10.2.24 and later, Patch version 12.1.12 and laterStated by: CVE record
  • Atlassian Bitbucket Data CenterAffected: All other versionsUpgrade to: not statedFixed buildsPatch version 10.2.8 and later, Patch version 10.5.1 and later, Patch version 9.4.26 and laterStated by: CVE record
  • Atlassian Confluence Data CenterAffected: All other versionsUpgrade to: not statedFixed buildsPatch version 10.2.19 and later, Patch version 9.2.26 and laterStated by: CVE record
  • Atlassian Crowd Data CenterAffected: All other versionsUpgrade to: not statedFixed buildsPatch version 7.2.4 and later, Patch version 7.1.7 and later, Patch version 7.0.3 and later, Patch version 6.3.7 and laterStated by: CVE record
  • Atlassian Crucible Data CenterAffected: All other versionsUpgrade to: not statedFixed buildsPatch version 4.9.15 and laterStated by: CVE record

Versions as the sources state them. 3 more products have version data. Full version matrix after sign-in

Steps

Written by AI from the record
  1. Identify which Atlassian Data Center product(s) and versions you run (Bitbucket, Confluence, Jira Software, Jira Service Management, Bamboo, Crowd, Crucible, or Fisheye).
  2. Check if your version falls in the affected range listed by Atlassian for your product.
  3. Upgrade to the fixed patch version for your product — for example Bitbucket Data Center 9.4.26, 10.2.8, or 10.5.1; Confluence Data Center 9.2.26 or 10.2.19; Jira Software/Service Management 9.12.40, 10.3.26, or 11.3.12; Bamboo Data Center 10.2.24 or 12.1.12; Crowd Data Center 6.3.7, 7.0.3, 7.1.7, or 7.2.4; Crucible/Fisheye 4.9.15.
  4. If you cannot patch immediately, restrict internet access to the application and monitor web server logs for requests to paths like WEB-INF/web.xml.
  5. Confirm with your IT team or vendor that the patch has been applied and verify no suspicious file-access attempts occurred before the fix.

Coverage timeline

6 publishers
  1. Attackers began actively targeting a critical pre-auth arbitrary file read vulnerability in Atlassian products within hours of WatchTowr publishing technical details, prompting CISA to advise immediate patching.

    ·SecurityWeek summary
  2. Attackers began actively scanning honeypots for the newly patched arbitrary file access vulnerability CVE-2026-21589 affecting multiple Atlassian Data Center products shortly after patches were released.

    ·SANS Internet Storm Center summary
  3. Atlassian released patches for CVE-2026-21589, a critical unauthenticated arbitrary file access vulnerability affecting eight self-hosted products, with no evidence of active exploitation.

    ·SecurityWeek summary
  4. Atlassian issued an advisory urging immediate patching for CVE-2026-21589, a critical arbitrary file access flaw in its self-hosted Data Center products, noting no evidence of current exploitation.

    ·BleepingComputer summary
  5. WatchTowr researchers published a technical analysis of CVE-2026-21589, detailing the underlying path traversal mechanism involving double-colon encoding in Atlassian's shared JAR libraries.

    ·watchTowr Labs summary

Sourced from public security reporting — each date is when it was published, not when it happened. 4 further articles named this CVE in wider roundups without reporting it as a distinct event.

What it is

From the CVE record

This is a vulnerability in Bitbucket Data Center, Confluence Data Center, Jira Service Management Data Center, Jira Software Data Center, Bamboo Data Center. Crowd Data Center, Crucible and Fisheye. This Arbitrary File Access vulnerability allows an unauthenticated attacker to access specific files within the web application root directory in affected versions. Exploitation requires prior knowledge of the target file's exact name and path; this vulnerability does not allow attackers to enumerate or list directory contents. In some configurations, there may be some sensitive files that make this highly severe. This vulnerability allows an unauthenticated remote attacker to access specific files within the web application root directory in affected versions. The vulnerability must be addressed for affected versions of: -- Bitbucket Data Center, introduced in version >= 4.6.0, fix versions: 9.4.26, 10.2.8, 10.5.1 -- Confluence Data Center, introduced in version >= 5.10.0, fix versions 9.2.26, 10.2.19 -- Crowd Data Center, introduced in version >= 2.11.0, fix versions 6.3.7, 7.0.3, 7.1.7, 7.2.4 -- Jira Software Data Center, introduced in version >= 7.1.0, fix versions 9.12.40, 10.3.26, 11.3.12 -- Jira Service Management Data Center, introduced in version >= 3.1.0, fix versions 5.12.40, 10.3.26, 11.3.12 -- Bamboo Data Center >= 7.0.1, fix versions 10.2.24, 12.1.12 -- Crucible, fix versions 4.9.15 -- Fisheye, fix version 4.9.15 -- Exploitation requires prior knowledge of the target file's exact name and path. The vulnerability does not include the capability to enumerate or list directory contents.

In plain language

Written by AI from the record

Several widely used Atlassian Data Center products (Jira, Confluence, Bitbucket, Bamboo, Crowd, Crucible, Fisheye) let an attacker who already knows a file's exact name read it without logging in, and attackers are actively trying this right now — treat it as urgent.

Unauthenticated path-based arbitrary file disclosure (CWE-552) in multiple Atlassian Data Center products allows retrieval of known files (e.g., WEB-INF/web.xml) within the webapp root without directory listing, with active exploitation attempts observed in the wild since October 6, 2026.

If you're affected

  • Exposure of configuration/credential files
  • Customer and internal data exposure
  • Compliance/regulatory exposure
  • Foothold for further attacks

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS86th
CISA KEV

Not in the catalog. CISA has not confirmed exploitation.

Public exploits

No public exploit or proof of concept found in the sources we track.

EPSS

2.8% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 86th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Attention now

Sustained, driven by in-the-wild reports.

Lifecycle

8 events over 2 days, from the signal feeds we watch.

  1. Nuclei check addedrecord updated
  2. Record updatedrecord updated
  3. Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped, record updated

Affected products

Technical detail

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next serious one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Bamboo Data Center, not every advisory.