CVE Tools

CVE-2023-22515

Exploited in the wild. In CISA KEV since 2023‑10‑05. Fixed versions are out.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD, BDU

What to do

Find your product and version, then upgrade to the build on the right.

  • Atlassian Confluence Data CenterAffected: >= 8.0.0Upgrade to: not statedAffected: >= 8.0.1Upgrade to: not statedAffected: >= 8.0.2Upgrade to: not statedAffected: >= 8.0.3Upgrade to: not statedFixed builds< 8.0.0, >= 8.3.3, >= 8.4.3, >= 8.5.2 + 14 more branchesStated by: CVE record
  • Atlassian Confluence ServerAffected: ≥ 8.0.0, < 8.3.3Upgrade to: 8.3.3Stated by: NVD
  • Atlassian Jira Data CenterAffected: от 8.0.0 до 8.3.3Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU

Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in

Coverage timeline

0 publishers
  1. Added to CISA KEV catalog

    ·CISA KEV

Sourced from public security reporting — each date is when it was published, not when it happened. 1 further article named this CVE in wider roundups without reporting it as a distinct event.

What it is

From the CVE record

Atlassian has been made aware of an issue reported by a handful of customers where external attackers may have exploited a previously unknown vulnerability in publicly accessible Confluence Data Center and Server instances to create unauthorized Confluence administrator accounts and access Confluence instances. Atlassian Cloud sites are not affected by this vulnerability. If your Confluence site is accessed via an atlassian.net domain, it is hosted by Atlassian and is not vulnerable to this issue.

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS99th
Public exploit
CISA KEV
CISA KEV

Listed as exploited in the wild since 2023-10-05.

US federal agencies must remediate by 2023-10-13.

Known use in ransomware campaigns.

Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Check all affected Confluence instances for evidence of compromise per vendor instructions and report any positive findings to CISA.
Public exploits

2 sources with a proof of concept or module.

Exploit links, PoCs and Metasploit modules after sign-in
EPSS

99% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 99th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

The patch came 133 days before any public exploit.

  1. OpenVAS check added
  2. Public exploit / PoCsource: github-pocnuclei check added
  3. Patch availablerecord updated
  4. Added to CISA KEVransomware campaign
  5. Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped

Affected products

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

Scored 9.8 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector NetworkExploitable remotely over the network without any special conditions
  • Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
  • Privileges Required NoneNo authentication required — anyone can exploit this
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality HighTotal information disclosure — all data in the component is compromised
  • Integrity HighTotal loss of integrity — attacker can modify any data in the component
  • Availability HighTotal denial of service — the component is completely unavailable

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next exploited one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Confluence Server, not every advisory. This one: actively exploited.