CVE Tools

CVE-2022-23131

Unsafe client-side session storage leading to authentication bypass/instance takeover via Zabbix Frontend with configured SAML

Exploited in the wild. In CISA KEV since 2022‑02‑22. Fixed in 5.4.9.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD, BDU

What to do

Find your product and version, then upgrade to the build on the right.

  • Zabbix FrontendAffected: 5.4.0 - 5.4.8Upgrade to: not statedFixed builds5.4.9Stated by: CVE record
  • ZabbixAffected: ≥ 5.4.0, ≤ 5.4.8Upgrade to: after 5.4.8Stated by: NVD
  • Сообщество свободного программного обеспечения Debian GNU/LinuxAffected: 9Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU

Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in

Coverage timeline

0 publishers
  1. Added to CISA KEV catalog

    ·CISA KEV

Sourced from public security reporting — each date is when it was published, not when it happened.

What it is

From the CVE record

In the case of instances where the SAML SSO authentication is enabled (non-default), session data can be modified by a malicious actor, because a user login stored in the session was not verified. Malicious unauthenticated actor may exploit this issue to escalate privileges and gain admin access to Zabbix Frontend. To perform the attack, SAML authentication is required to be enabled and the actor has to know the username of Zabbix user (or use the guest account, which is disabled by default).

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS99th
CISA KEV
CISA KEV

Listed as exploited in the wild since 2022-02-22.

US federal agencies must remediate by 2022-03-08.

Apply updates per vendor instructions.
Public exploits

No public exploit or proof of concept found in the sources we track.

EPSS

96% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 99th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

9 events over 1624 days, from the signal feeds we watch.

  1. OpenVAS check added
  2. Nuclei check added
  3. Patch availableworkaround available, record updated
  4. Added to CISA KEV
  5. Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped

Affected products

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

Scored 9.1 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector NetworkExploitable remotely over the network without any special conditions
  • Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
  • Privileges Required NoneNo authentication required — anyone can exploit this
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality HighTotal information disclosure — all data in the component is compromised
  • Integrity HighTotal loss of integrity — attacker can modify any data in the component
  • Availability NoneNo availability impact

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next exploited one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Frontend, not every advisory. This one: actively exploited.