CVE Tools

CVE-2021-43798

Grafana path traversal

Exploited in the wild. In CISA KEV since 2025‑10‑09. Fixed versions are out.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD, GitHub, BDU

What to do

Find your product and version, then upgrade to the build on the right.

  • Go github.com/grafana/grafanaAffected: ≥ 8.3.0, < 8.3.1Upgrade to: 8.3.1Stated by: GitHub advisory
  • GrafanaAffected: ≥ 8.0.1, < 8.0.7Upgrade to: 8.0.7Stated by: NVD
  • Novell Inc. SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP ApplicationsAffected: 12 SP3Upgrade to: not statedAffected: 12 SP3-LTSSUpgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
  • Novell Inc. OpenSUSE LeapAffected: 15.3Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
  • Novell Inc. Suse Linux Enterprise DesktopAffected: 15 SP4Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU

Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in

Coverage timeline

0 publishers
  1. Added to CISA KEV catalog

    ·CISA KEV

Sourced from public security reporting — each date is when it was published, not when it happened.

What it is

From the CVE record

Grafana is an open-source platform for monitoring and observability. Grafana versions 8.0.0-beta1 through 8.3.0 (except for patched versions) iss vulnerable to directory traversal, allowing access to local files. The vulnerable URL path is: `<grafana_host_url>/public/plugins//`, where is the plugin ID for any installed plugin. At no time has Grafana Cloud been vulnerable. Users are advised to upgrade to patched versions 8.0.7, 8.1.8, 8.2.7, or 8.3.1. The GitHub Security Advisory contains more information about vulnerable URL paths, mitigation, and the disclosure timeline.

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS99th
Public exploit
CISA KEV
CISA KEV

Listed as exploited in the wild since 2025-10-09.

US federal agencies must remediate by 2025-10-30.

Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Public exploits

6 sources with a proof of concept or module.

Exploit links, PoCs and Metasploit modules after sign-in
EPSS

89% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 99th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

The patch came 133 days before any public exploit.

  1. OpenVAS check added
  2. EPSS band changecritical → high
  3. Public exploit / PoCsource: packetstormnuclei check added
  4. Patch availablerecord updated
  5. Added to CISA KEV
  6. Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped

Affected products

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N

Scored 7.5 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector NetworkExploitable remotely over the network without any special conditions
  • Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
  • Privileges Required NoneNo authentication required — anyone can exploit this
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality HighTotal information disclosure — all data in the component is compromised
  • Integrity NoneNo integrity impact
  • Availability NoneNo availability impact

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next exploited one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Novell Inc., not every advisory. This one: actively exploited.