CVE Tools

CVE-2026-24061

Exploited in the wild. In CISA KEV since 2026‑01‑26. A vendor fix is available.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD, BDU

What to do

The vendor has published a fix. Version details are below where the sources state them.

  • GNU InetutilsAffected: ≥ 1.9.3, ≤ 2.7Upgrade to: after 2.7Stated by: CVE record
  • ООО «РусБИТех-Астра» Astra Linux Special EditionAffected: 1.8Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
  • Free Software Foundation, Inc. InetutilsAffected: от 1.9.3 до 2.7 включительноUpgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU

Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in

Coverage timeline

1 publisher
  1. Vendor patch released

    ·watchTowr Labs
  2. Added to CISA KEV catalog

    ·CISA KEV

Sourced from public security reporting — each date is when it was published, not when it happened. 2 further articles named this CVE in wider roundups without reporting it as a distinct event.

What it is

From the CVE record

telnetd in GNU Inetutils through 2.7 allows remote authentication bypass via a "-f root" value for the USER environment variable.

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS99th
Public exploit
CISA KEV
CISA KEV

Listed as exploited in the wild since 2026-01-26.

US federal agencies must remediate by 2026-02-16.

Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Public exploits

1 source with a proof of concept or module.

Exploit links, PoCs and Metasploit modules after sign-in
EPSS

99% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 99th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

The patch came 23 days before any public exploit.

  1. Patch availableworkaround available, record updated
  2. Patch availableworkaround available, record updated
  3. OpenVAS check added
  4. EPSS band changehigh → critical
  5. Public exploit / PoCsource: other
  6. Nuclei check added

Affected products

And 1 more affected product. See all after sign-in

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

Scored 9.8 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector NetworkExploitable remotely over the network without any special conditions
  • Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
  • Privileges Required NoneNo authentication required — anyone can exploit this
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality HighTotal information disclosure — all data in the component is compromised
  • Integrity HighTotal loss of integrity — attacker can modify any data in the component
  • Availability HighTotal denial of service — the component is completely unavailable

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next exploited one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Inetutils, not every advisory. This one: actively exploited.