CVE Tools

CVE-2024-53056

drm/mediatek: Fix potential NULL dereference in mtk_crtc_destroy()

No known exploitation. EPSS puts it in the 14th percentile. Fixed versions are out.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD, BDU

What to do

Find your product and version, then upgrade to the build on the right.

  • LinuxAffected: ≥ 7627122fd1c06800a1fe624e9fb3c269796115e8, < fb05e973698f4af008c7fb6e0cfa6a2fa1d98409Upgrade to: fb05e973698f4af008c7fb6e0cfa6a2fa1d98409Affected: ≥ 7627122fd1c06800a1fe624e9fb3c269796115e8, < c60583a87cb4a85b69d1f448f0be5eb6ec62cbb2Upgrade to: c60583a87cb4a85b69d1f448f0be5eb6ec62cbb2Affected: ≥ 7627122fd1c06800a1fe624e9fb3c269796115e8, < 4018651ba5c409034149f297d3dd3328b91561fdUpgrade to: 4018651ba5c409034149f297d3dd3328b91561fdAffected: 2c4396693698e876e559768d3d3a150c672ec384Upgrade to: not stated + 1 more branchStated by: CVE record
  • Canonical Ltd. UbuntuAffected: 22.04 LTSUpgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
  • Fedora Project FedoraAffected: 41Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
  • Сообщество свободного программного обеспечения LinuxAffected: от 5.15.54 до 5.15.173 включительноUpgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU

Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in

What it is

From the CVE record

In the Linux kernel, the following vulnerability has been resolved: drm/mediatek: Fix potential NULL dereference in mtk_crtc_destroy() In mtk_crtc_create(), if the call to mbox_request_channel() fails then we set the "mtk_crtc->cmdq_client.chan" pointer to NULL. In that situation, we do not call cmdq_pkt_create(). During the cleanup, we need to check if the "mtk_crtc->cmdq_client.chan" is NULL first before calling cmdq_pkt_destroy(). Calling cmdq_pkt_destroy() is unnecessary if we didn't call cmdq_pkt_create() and it will result in a NULL pointer dereference.

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS14th
CISA KEV

Not in the catalog. CISA has not confirmed exploitation.

Public exploits

No public exploit or proof of concept found in the sources we track.

EPSS

0.2% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 14th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

8 events over 683 days, from the signal feeds we watch.

  1. Patch availablerecord updated
  2. OpenVAS check added
  3. Patch availablerecord updated
  4. Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped

Affected products

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H

Scored 5.5 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector LocalRequires local access to the vulnerable system (e.g. local login, malicious file)
  • Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
  • Privileges Required LowRequires basic user-level privileges
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality NoneNo confidentiality impact
  • Integrity NoneNo integrity impact
  • Availability HighTotal denial of service — the component is completely unavailable

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next serious one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Ubuntu, not every advisory.