CVE-2020-9715
Exploited in the wild. In CISA KEV since 2026‑04‑13. A vendor fix is available.
What to do
The vendor has published a fix. Version details are below where the sources state them.
- Adobe Acrobat and ReaderAffected: 2020.009.20074 and earlier, 2020.001.30002, 2017.011.30171 and earlier, and…Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
- Adobe Acrobat DcAffected: ≥ 15.006.30060, ≤ 15.006.30523Upgrade to: after 15.006.30523Stated by: NVD
- Adobe Systems Inc. Adobe Acrobat Reader 2015Affected: до 2015.006.30527 Classic 2015Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
- Adobe Systems Inc. Adobe Acrobat Reader 2020Affected: до 2020.001.30005 Classic 2020Upgrade to: not statedStated by: BDU
Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in
Coverage timeline
0 publishersAdded to CISA KEV catalog
Sourced from public security reporting — each date is when it was published, not when it happened.
What it is
From the CVE record
Adobe Acrobat and Reader versions 2020.009.20074 and earlier, 2020.001.30002, 2017.011.30171 and earlier, and 2015.006.30523 and earlier have an use-after-free vulnerability. Successful exploitation could lead to arbitrary code execution .
In plain language
No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.
Exploitation
Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.
- CISA KEV
Listed as exploited in the wild since 2026-04-13.
US federal agencies must remediate by 2026-04-27.
Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
- Public exploits
No public exploit or proof of concept found in the sources we track.
- EPSS
33% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 98th percentile of scored CVEs.
Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.
Lifecycle
8 events over 2136 days, from the signal feeds we watch.
- OpenVAS check added
- EPSS band changehigh → moderate
- Patch availablerecord updated
- Added to CISA KEV
- Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped
Affected products
Technical detail
CVSS 3.1 vector
Open in the CVSS calculatorCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
Scored 7.8 by NVD.
How it is reached
- Attack Vector LocalRequires local access to the vulnerable system (e.g. local login, malicious file)
- Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
- Privileges Required NoneNo authentication required — anyone can exploit this
- User Interaction RequiredA user must click a link, open a file, or perform some action
Scope
- Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself
Impact if exploited
- Confidentiality HighTotal information disclosure — all data in the component is compromised
- Integrity HighTotal loss of integrity — attacker can modify any data in the component
- Availability HighTotal denial of service — the component is completely unavailable
Weaknesses
ATT&CK techniques
Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.
- Initial AccessT1190Exploit Public-Facing Applicationhigh confidence
- Privilege EscalationT1068Exploitation for Privilege Escalationhigh confidence
Sources
Watch the software you run.
My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next exploited one reaches you without reading every advisory.
We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Adobe, not every advisory. This one: actively exploited.
A free account adds
- The full version matrix and every affected product
- Exploit links, proofs of concept and Metasploit modules
- Email alerts for the products you watch
- The same data over REST API, MCP and CLI