CVE Tools

CVE-2026-41679

Paperclip Vulnerable to Unauthenticated Remote Code Execution via Import Authorization Bypass

No known exploitation. EPSS puts it in the 94th percentile. Fixed in 2026.416.0.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD

What to do

Find your product and version, then upgrade to the build on the right.

  • Paperclipai PaperclipAffected: < 2026.410.0Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
  • Paperclipai @paperclipai/serverAffected: < 2026.410.0Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
  • PaperclipaiAffected: < 2026.416.0Upgrade to: 2026.416.0Stated by: NVD
  • Paperclipai\/serverAffected: < 2026.416.0Upgrade to: 2026.416.0Stated by: NVD

Versions as the sources state them. Full version matrix after sign-in

Coverage timeline

2 publishers
  1. An authorization bypass in Paperclip could allow remote attackers to gain admin access and execute arbitrary code.

    ·SecurityWeek summary
  2. Critical flaws in Paperclip AI agent system patched; no active exploitation reported as of August 5, 2026.

    ·The Hacker News summary

Sourced from public security reporting — each date is when it was published, not when it happened. 2 further articles named this CVE in wider roundups without reporting it as a distinct event.

What it is

From the CVE record

Paperclip is a Node.js server and React UI that orchestrates a team of AI agents to run a business. Prior to version 2026.416.0, an unauthenticated attacker can achieve full remote code execution on any network-accessible Paperclip instance running in `authenticated` mode with default configuration. No user interaction, no credentials, just the target's address. The chain consists of six API calls. The attack is fully automated, requires no user interaction, and works against the default deployment configuration. Version 2026.416.0 patches the issue.

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS94th
CISA KEV

Not in the catalog. CISA has not confirmed exploitation.

Public exploits

No public exploit or proof of concept found in the sources we track.

EPSS

7.4% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 94th percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

12 events over 160 days, from the signal feeds we watch.

  1. EPSS band changemoderate → low
  2. EPSS band changemoderate → lowepss band change
  3. EPSS band changelow → moderate
  4. EPSS band changelow → moderateepss band change
  5. Nuclei check added
  6. Workaround availablerecord updated

Affected products

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H

Scored 10.0 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector NetworkExploitable remotely over the network without any special conditions
  • Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
  • Privileges Required NoneNo authentication required — anyone can exploit this
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope ChangedThe exploit can affect other components (e.g. sandbox escape, host compromise from VM)

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality HighTotal information disclosure — all data in the component is compromised
  • Integrity HighTotal loss of integrity — attacker can modify any data in the component
  • Availability HighTotal denial of service — the component is completely unavailable

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next serious one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Paperclipai, not every advisory.