CVE Tools

CVE-2024-8214

D-Link DNS-1550-04 hd_config.cgi cgi_FMT_Std2R5_2nd_DiskMGR command injection

Public exploit available. Not confirmed exploited in the wild yet. A vendor fix is available.

Published Updated Sources: CVE.org, NVD, BDU

What to do

The vendor has published a fix. Version details are below where the sources state them.

  • D-Link DNS-120Affected: 20240814Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
  • D-Link DNR-202LAffected: 20240814Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
  • D-Link DNS-315LAffected: 20240814Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
  • D-Link DNS-320Affected: 20240814Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
  • D-Link DNS-320LAffected: 20240814Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record

Versions as the sources state them. 15 more products have version data. Full version matrix after sign-in

What it is

From the CVE record

A vulnerability classified as critical was found in D-Link DNS-120, DNR-202L, DNS-315L, DNS-320, DNS-320L, DNS-320LW, DNS-321, DNR-322L, DNS-323, DNS-325, DNS-326, DNS-327L, DNR-326, DNS-340L, DNS-343, DNS-345, DNS-726-4, DNS-1100-4, DNS-1200-05 and DNS-1550-04 up to 20240814. Affected by this vulnerability is the function cgi_FMT_Std2R5_2nd_DiskMGR of the file /cgi-bin/hd_config.cgi. The manipulation of the argument f_source_dev leads to command injection. The attack can be launched remotely. The exploit has been disclosed to the public and may be used. NOTE: This vulnerability only affects products that are no longer supported by the maintainer. NOTE: Vendor was contacted early and confirmed that the product is end-of-life. It should be retired and replaced.

In plain language

No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.

Exploitation

Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.

EPSS92nd
Public exploit
CISA KEV

Not in the catalog. CISA has not confirmed exploitation.

Public exploits

1 source with a proof of concept or module.

Exploit links, PoCs and Metasploit modules after sign-in
EPSS

5.2% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 92nd percentile of scored CVEs.

Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.

Lifecycle

The patch came 554 days before any public exploit.

  1. Public exploit / PoCsource: github-poc
  2. Patch availablerecord updated
  3. Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped

Affected products

Technical detail

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:L

Scored 6.3 by NVD.

How it is reached

  • Attack Vector NetworkExploitable remotely over the network without any special conditions
  • Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
  • Privileges Required LowRequires basic user-level privileges
  • User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation

Scope

  • Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself

Impact if exploited

  • Confidentiality LowSome restricted information is disclosed, but limited in scope
  • Integrity LowData modification is possible but limited in scope or consequence
  • Availability LowReduced performance or intermittent disruption of service

Weaknesses

ATT&CK techniques

Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.

Sources

Watch the software you run.

My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next serious one reaches you without reading every advisory.

We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for Dns-315l Firmware, not every advisory. This one: public exploit.