CVE-2024-7715
D-Link DNS-1550-04 photocenter_mgr.cgi sprintf command injection
Public exploit available. Not confirmed exploited in the wild yet. A vendor fix is available.
What to do
The vendor has published a fix. Version details are below where the sources state them.
- D-Link DNS-120Affected: 20240812Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
- D-Link DNR-202LAffected: 20240812Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
- D-Link DNS-315LAffected: 20240812Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
- D-Link DNS-320Affected: 20240812Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
- D-Link DNS-320LAffected: 20240812Upgrade to: not statedStated by: CVE record
Versions as the sources state them. 15 more products have version data. Full version matrix after sign-in
What it is
From the CVE record
** UNSUPPORTED WHEN ASSIGNED ** A vulnerability was found in D-Link DNS-120, DNR-202L, DNS-315L, DNS-320, DNS-320L, DNS-320LW, DNS-321, DNR-322L, DNS-323, DNS-325, DNS-326, DNS-327L, DNR-326, DNS-340L, DNS-343, DNS-345, DNS-726-4, DNS-1100-4, DNS-1200-05 and DNS-1550-04 up to 20240812. It has been classified as critical. This affects the function sprintf of the file /cgi-bin/photocenter_mgr.cgi. The manipulation of the argument filter leads to command injection. It is possible to initiate the attack remotely. The exploit has been disclosed to the public and may be used. NOTE: This vulnerability only affects products that are no longer supported by the maintainer. NOTE: Vendor was contacted early and confirmed that the product is end-of-life. It should be retired and replaced.
In plain language
No plain-language summary for this CVE yet.
Exploitation
Where each signal puts this CVE on the scale from published to confirmed exploited.
- CISA KEV
Not in the catalog. CISA has not confirmed exploitation.
- Public exploits
1 source with a proof of concept or module.
Exploit links, PoCs and Metasploit modules after sign-in- EPSS
26% chance of exploitation activity in the next 30 days, which ranks it in the 98th percentile of scored CVEs.
Exploit Prediction Scoring System, FIRST.org. A probability, not a confirmation.
Lifecycle
The patch came 568 days before any public exploit.
- OpenVAS check added
- EPSS band changelow → moderate
- Public exploit / PoCsource: github-poc
- Patch availablerecord updated
- Publishedweakness classified, att&ck mapped
Affected products
And 24 more affected products. See all after sign-in
Technical detail
CVSS 3.1 vector
Open in the CVSS calculatorCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:L
Scored 6.3 by NVD.
How it is reached
- Attack Vector NetworkExploitable remotely over the network without any special conditions
- Attack Complexity LowNo special conditions — the attack can be reliably reproduced
- Privileges Required LowRequires basic user-level privileges
- User Interaction NoneNo user interaction needed — fully automated exploitation
Scope
- Scope UnchangedImpact is limited to the vulnerable component itself
Impact if exploited
- Confidentiality LowSome restricted information is disclosed, but limited in scope
- Integrity LowData modification is possible but limited in scope or consequence
- Availability LowReduced performance or intermittent disruption of service
Weaknesses
ATT&CK techniques
Mapped from the weaknesses above (CWE to ATT&CK), not observed in attacks.
Sources
References in the record
- github.com/BuaaIOTTeam/Iot_Dlink_NAS/blob/main/DNS_cgi_photo_search.md
- supportannouncement.us.dlink.com/security/publication.aspx?name=SAP10383
- vuldb.com/?ctiid.274281
And 6 more references. See all after sign-in
Watch the software you run.
My Stack ranks new CVEs for your products by real-world exploitation, so the next serious one reaches you without reading every advisory.
We'll flag the next CVE, public exploit or patch for DNS-320L, not every advisory. This one: public exploit.
A free account adds
- The full version matrix and every affected product
- Exploit links, proofs of concept and Metasploit modules
- Email alerts for the products you watch
- The same data over REST API, MCP and CLI